Community Services Block Grant

The Community Services Block Grant program (CSBG) is funded by the Dept. of Commerce & Economic Opportunity. There is a CSBG grant in every county in the state of Illinois. At Two Rivers Head Start we operate the CSBG grant for Kane County. We have two CSBG offices in Kane county — one in Aurora and the other in Elgin.

The CSBG program is designed to provide a range of services which assist eligible individuals to attain skills, knowledge, and motivation necessary to achieve self-sufficiency. The program also may provide individuals with immediate life necessities such as food, shelter, and/ or medicine.

Who is eligible?

Client eligibility for the Community Services Block Grant program is based on a “poverty” income threshold that is established by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. People whose household income is within 125% of the poverty threshold and are residents of Kane County may be eligible. Additional program requirements may apply.

Information on CSBG eligibility or programs may be obtained by calling:

Aurora: (630) 264-1444 or (800) 847-9010; serving people from Geneva and southern Kane County
Elgin: (847) 717-6048; serving people from St. Charles and northern Kane County

CSBG Income Guidelines (English)
CSBG Income Guidelines (Spanish)
Intake Application (English)
Intake Application (Spanish)

Translate »